Selflessness

Being a Drill Sergeant in the U.S. Army, I am tasked with teaching future Soldiers to live by the Army Values. These values are Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity and Personal Courage. I want to talk about one value in particular; Selfless Service. The last part of the definition according to the Army is “The basic building block of selfless service is the commitment of each team member to go a little further, endure a little longer, and look a little closer to see how he or she can add to the effort.” This way of thinking can also be carried over to the civilian side. Giving or doing something for someone with no expectation of reward, praise or gain. There are not many instances in life  that the majority of people will do something for nothing. People tend to live by the cliche’ Quid Pro Quo. Today I have witnessed a number of people going against this norm. I posted earlier about my Foster Mom and her husband losing their home to a fire.  My wife and myself immediately figured out how much we could send to help.We gave as much as we could but it was far from what a family would need to start over. So I then decided to start an online fundraiser. In 8 hours we have raised $135.00. Several of these donations came from people I do not even know. Nor does the Jacobs’. This too me is outstanding. We haven’t raised much but the fact that complete strangers are contributing to the fund gives me a better perspective of humanity. I want to say thank you to everyone for helping this cause. If anyone else can help please do. Even if it’s only prayers.

Here is the link. Once again thank you and Happy Easter.

http://www.gofundme.com/2gkae8

Leave a Reply

