Seeking help for PTSD

One of the problems with PTSD is how to treat it. Drug treatment, cognitive therapy, group therapy, exposure therapy, desensitization, acupuncture,  and numerous other types of treatments. Every person is different in their own way, so they will respond different to certain treatments. Currently I am on a drug treatment and one on one counseling. I have just started the counseling so I can not  comment on it’s effectiveness as of yet. I have been put on so many different medications over the past 2 years and I am just now at a point where my family and myself can see they are working. The fact that it has taken so long is horrible. The problem is drugs arent always the answer. I know from experience the drugs do help me, but they cant cure the problem. The one thing I could never bring myself to do is actually talk to someone. I am a very closed in type of person. I do not share my feelings. Failing to open up has caused my feelings to fester and eventually take over. I am beginning to open up to my therapist, even giving her a link to my blog. I open up more writing or typing then I do in person. Maybe it’s because I do not have to see a face judging me.

As for my anxiety, I have decided to try and find hobbies to concentrate on and relax. I have began putting together models with my son. This is a relaxing activity and also gives me good one on one time with my son. I am also very much into electronics. I like to root (the  “jail breaking” of the android operating system) my phones and tablets, customizing them to my likes. This takes time to learn and is very relaxing to me. It helped me create an Android application for my blog. So far these few things seem to be working. People are noticing I am much more calm now.

What has helped you? I want to open this post up to everyone that follows. I want to know what you have tried and if it worked. Let others know your experience so that they might be able to get some ideas.

4 responses to “Seeking help for PTSD

  1. Pingback: Understanding his PTSD more | Repairing Shattered Pieces

  2. My husband has PTSD stemming from Kosovo and the working in the Pentagon on 9/11 for the SECNAV. For 10 gears he did not seek treatment and it almost destroyed our marriage. Finally right before the 10th anniversary of 9/12 he did, also in addition to marital therapy due to infidelity which I do believe also is intertwined with his ptsd.

    He’s on two medications, effexor and wellbutrin, he had an assessment by a psychologist, and he’s in one on one therapy. He also had a 9/11 memorial tattoo done that is exquisite. Soon he and I are going to visit the pentagon memorial.

    I try to be sensitive about his triggers. On anniversaries he doesn’t work. He avoids coverage. We talk when he can. I have my own trauma associated with it. Support, that what I try to offer him.

    • I have several tattoos dedicated to my Army life and plan on many more lol. I was on effexor and had very bad side effects and wellbutrin didnt help me. Luckily now I am on a combo that works good. My drinking/PTSD/combo of meds was ruining my marriage. I would talk inappropriate online to women and never even remember it. I was becoming violent and just a horrible person. I am glad it is behind me now and my marriage is much better. It will take time to mend it completely though.

  3. Thank you for your service and your sacrifice!

    Your task is far from complete but you are on the right path. Like yourself I am also a combat vet from another war (Vietnam). It took me over 25 years to finally put the plug in the jug and then another 20+ years to find out that the booze was only a symptom to the crap going on in my head. Been sober for the past 23 years doing it ‘one day at a time’ and it works! Although I went to AA for my drinking I stay for my thinking. Without the booze – my life became manageable and allowed me to clearly identify the PTSD. I understand that I self-medicated for many years. It was only for a fellow VN vet that spotted my behavior and suggested to go to the VA. That was over 3 years ago and with a little therapy and a good group of VN vets to lean on I’m learning more every day. Selflessness can be strong medicine and it works best in groups.

    “freely I receive and freely I shall give” It is the times that we feel we are no good to our selves, that is the right time to be good to others.

    Good luck,

    Semper Fi,
    Danang, RVN 1965-66 9th MEB

Leave a Reply

